Wk 7 – Classmate Interview – Chelien Nouchee Kue

IMG_3509 IMG_3512

Chelien is a freshman Nursing major. When I met her, I was observing the Introspection gallery. Chelien walked up to me and asked me what I thought about the work and she said she thought some of it was a little messy. I responded that maybe those pieces reflect the messy mind of the artist while she was creating the piece.

We talked a little bit about ART 110 and both agree that the format is not what we expected. She expressed a bit of disappointment because she was hoping it would be a bit more hands on. She told me that she likes to go up to people and ask them what they think about political and social situations, and what they think about the art that they are observing in the galleries. I found that interesting because it helps Cheilen gauge whether or not she will get along with someone right off the bat.

We also talked a bit about cellphone services and how sometimes you just need service that works while you’re at the beach even though the beach is not somewhere either of us frequent.

IMG_3510She said I looked tired and I explained that I am a senior and only taking this and one other class to graduate.

We talked about how she was named. Her dad was watching a Chinese movie and liked the main character and her name but didn’t know how to spell it. So he came up with Chelien. I told her it was better than having a very common name like Michelle, to which she responded that I look more like a Samantha. And by the way I was dressed, looked like I go by Sam. I told her I was dressed so sporty because after class I was going to the El Dorado nature center to walk two miles.

After I said good luck with the nursing major little freshman she laughed and said have a life.

Leave a Reply

