Wk 8 – Class Activity – ePortfolio

This week I decided to create a sticky page for my WordPress blog in which I feature an Etsy shop that I created in February 2013. The shop is called KineticKnitwork. I never did anything with the shop and I figured that this assignment was the perfect opportunity to finally get the ball rolling. All I ever did was have one of my graphic designer friends create a banner. I never used it until now and I think it looks great! I also never took pictures for my Etsy shop. I intended for my photographer friend to take some pictures for me but that never happened. I finally took time out to take some pictures of the remaining hats that I have because I often just give them away as random gifts or for holidays/birthdays. All I need to do now is start knitting again and to live up to the purpose I had created for my knitwork back in 2013.

Here’s the link to the sticky page/ wk 8 class activity: https://myhalll.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/kineticknitwork/#more-225

Here’s the link to my unfinished shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/KineticKnitwork

My shop had this description:

What is the purpose of having a talent or skill if what that skill is producing is not intended for the benefit others? Knitting started as a personal hobby, but once I discovered the joy of giving my knitwork to others, I realized just how impacting this hobby of mine could be. With KineticKnitwork, I aspire to bring hope and comfort to the homeless and needy in my community and those surrounding. A portion of the sales I hope to make will go toward buying the supplies and toward the time it takes to make beanies for the homeless and needy. With KineticKnitwork I hope to always stay active in my community and to always inspire others in to taking action and creating the same motion in their own communities.

“Hide not your talents, they for use were made,
What’s a sundial in the shade?”
― Benjamin Franklin

Leave a Reply

