Wk 9 – Artist Interview – Restart

IMG_3725 IMG_3717 IMG_3719 IMG_3718 IMG_3728

IMG_3732

These five pieces were my favorites of the Restart gallery. They were etherial, spiritual, and thought provoking. Each of these pieces reminded me of death and dying. The deconstruction of life and the existence of life beyond earthly death.

My favorite piece of the gallery was number 12, Broken and Beautiful by Coral Taluban. This “altered ceramic pot and glitter” kind of reminded me of myself. I began to wonder how Coral created the piece. Did she shatter the pottery? Did she smash it on the ground or maybe break it with a hammer? How did the destruction happen? That doesn’t really matter now because it is no longer a whole piece of pottery. It is damaged but damaged does not mean useless. I think that this piece is beautiful. It reminds me of my own destruction. How damaged I am and that I will never be able to get back to the person I was before I was damaged. That doesn’t mean I can’t still be good and useful. This piece and this gallery gives me hope.

Leave a Reply

