WK 10 – Artist Interviews – Maggie Freed

IMG_3816.JPG

IMG_3819.JPG

IMG_3822.JPG

IMG_3820.JPG

Freed’s work depicts the darkness and confusion of life. That being, I connected with the “anxiety, chaos, and emotional deluge” that it portrays. What I appreciate most about her pieces are the colors and shapes. They kind of sum up my life right now. It’s hard to explain. They’re dark, linear, and claustrophobic, relating to how I feel about the darkness of some days and the light that shines on others, the tendency of my anxiety to make the world feel so big but so small, and the feeling that I get when every day seems to blend in to the next. I feel like they bring about a bit of hope though. That there is some cathartic process that Freed found and that I could apply to my own claustrophobic life to make it better.

Leave a Reply

