WK 11 – Class Activity – Student Choice: Fiber Art

IMG_3653Knitting is one of my favorite hobbies! There’s something about the repetition and attention that must be payed to the process that makes it both enjoyable and interesting. One little mistake can ruin your work if you can’t figure out how to go back and correct it. Plus being a 22 year old knitter allows me the ability to brag about my “granny skills” as I like to call them.

The green beanie that I have pictured to the right is the most recent object that I have knitted. Each beanie takes me approximately 2.5 hours if I were to cut out the many breaks I tend to take during the process. I found this out a couple months ago when I timed myself knitting a beanie and paused the timer during every break I took. I found the basis for the pattern online. I made it as the pattern specified and found that I did not like how it turned out. Luckily I was able to figure out how to change the pattern after trying some things out and cutting out parts that I didn’t care for.

When I knit, I like to create something useful. I usually stick to making beanies, blankets, and scarves. My favorite thing to make is beanies. I even have an Etsy shop called KineticKnitwork that I hope to have operational soon. Just need to build up my knitwork so I have some inventory.

Leave a Reply

