WK 15 – Artist Interview – Troy Rounseville

IMG_4273 IMG_4276 IMG_4274 IMG_4277 IMG_4278

I loved the musical disconnect of Troy’s work. As a musician, I found it interesting to use my body to create music with instruments in a non-traditional way. His work makes you question the authenticity of music that is created with technology instead of through physical touch. I wanted to spend time with the piece and get to know it better. I wanted to see what I could do with it and what i could create. I wanted to be alone with it and close the doors to the glass room and lock it so I couldn’t be disturbed.

With his work in this exhibit, Troy questions the authenticity of one’s experience when transferring emotions through technology. I appreciate this question and his others concerning the ability of technology to truly represent physical interactions and representation. I also appreciate the kinesthetic nature of the piece. Great work!

Leave a Reply

